FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
1,310 views 11 comments
by

I installed a brand new TRB140 in Australia today.

It was working perfectly. As a good tech, I decided that I will check the Teltonika website and upgrade the firmware to the latest version.

This killed the internal 4G modem inside the unit, so now with any version firmware, the 4G modem won't come up.

My unit was running TRB1401_R_00.01.06. My model # is TRB140107000.

Serial # 1106151881

2.04.3 Upgrade failed:

I saw that version 2.04.3 was available and saw the instructions about the legacy upgrade.

I did the upgrade and it executed perfectly, rebooted and the webui came up showing the new version.

However the WAN showed nothing, and the system log reporting

"[get-available_modems:97: Failed to lookup for gmsd...."

"Unable to retrieve available modems"

No 4G connection at all.

Tried downgrading the firmware back to what was in the TRB140:

So after failing the update, I then tried to reload the older firmware.

I made sure I downloaded the firmware for the Australian region.

I tried TRB1401_R_00.01.06.1.bin and TRB1401_R_00.01.05.1.bin

Both firmwares installed correctly, reboot correctly and came up. However the internal 4G modem still would not come up

Question:

Is there separate firmware for the 4G modem inside the unit. If so, how can you reflash that code.

What else can I do to get this unit to full reflash itself back to a full factory configuartion.

Is this a known issue?

Here are some pictures taken of the TRB140 running the 1.06.1 firmware.

by anonymous

Hi Andrew,