FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
782 views 6 comments
by

Hello everyone,

First of all: I'm new to this network-stuff, so don't be rude ;)
My english is also not the best one, so sorry for that.

I have two RUT240 routers and I'm trying to connect them with a VPN connection. 
The biggest problem is: I can't ping one RUT from the other RUT. Both routers have dynamic public IP's and work with cellular data.

The strange thing is: If I ping the RUT240 from my 'Home-Internet', it is working, but if I connect to one RUT240 and try to ping the other one, then it's failing.

I have no idea why this is happening.

I was able to make the routers accessible over the Internet with a Dyndns-Service, so I can access the Web-Ui at every time.

Like I said before, my goal is to establish a VPN-connection, but it's not working. Maybe because of this "ping-problem".

Now everything is set to factory settings, only dyndns is configured. 
Internet is working like a charm on both RUT's. Buf if I connect over Wifi to one Rut240 and try to ping the other one, i get no results.
The same happens If I try to ping over ssh or CLI.

This picture shows my ping attempt over CLI. NOT WORKING. :(

This one shows the pinging over Windows cmd over my home Internet.  Working!    

So I think, that VPN can't be established as long as the "ping-problem" exists. Am I right? Can you please help me.

Thanks in advance :)

1 Answer

0 votes
by anonymous
Hi,

No worries about limited knowledge and your English, we are here to help you in any case :)