FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
188 views 0 comments
by

Hi all, I had an encrypted serial-to-TCP-to-serial stream on a Raspberry Pi and am basically trying to replicate it with the Teltonika RUT955, which I've never used before. I think I have all the IPSec configurations correct in the Teltonika menu and here they are for reference (I feel confident the security settings, encryption, etc. are correct so not including them here):

Router #1

left=10.10.x.10

leftsubnet=10.x.29.0/24

right=x.x.x.x

rightsubnet=x.x.30.0/24

Router #2

left=10.10.x.11

leftsubnet=10.x.30.0/24

right=x.x.x.x

rightsubnet=x.x.29.0/24

Sorry if those IPs don't make sense, I am still very new at this. But the ones visible are the only ones that matter. They are going to a 3rd party server so the right is the same for both.

Now I start with the IPSec down but the PPPoE connected and need to create routes since otherwise the data will just go straight through the ethernet and not actually use the IPSec tunnel (when I WireShark I just see TCP packets not ESPs).

So I do the following commands in CLI for Router 1:

ip route delete default

ip route add x.x.x.x/32 dev pppoe-wan

ifconfig eth0:1 10.x.29.1/24 up

ip route add default via 10.x.29.1 dev eth0:1

ipsec up [name of ipsec]

You can probably infer what happens on Router 2, very similar just switching some IPs. After this the IPsec tunnel still isn't being used.