FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
626 views 4 comments
by

Hello,

I'm on a camping with a password-protected wifi. I want to use that wifi to save mobile data. I'm kind of new to this, but I read the manuals and set up my RUT955 like this:

1. WAN configuration: WiFi is set as main, Mobile is set as Failover WAN2

2. I pressed "Scan", the external wifi was found. I provided the password and the connection was successful.

3. Wireless Configuration: The camping's wifi ("Green Car") now appears as a wireless station.

4. I can connect to my AP ("Hummus-T"), and I can access the Internet with several devices. Cool!

5. However when I check under Status / Mobile Traffic, the Daily Usage for SIM1 keeps going up. So it seems like the router is still using mobile data instead of the camping's wifi.

Please, how can I make sure that the router uses wifi instead of mobile data?

PS: I have made sure that the password is correct and I can use the camping's wifi if I connect directly to it ("Green Car") instead of to the Teltonika AP (Hummus-T").

2 Answers

0 votes
by anonymous

Same problem here.

In the settings Network > WAN I can see that the router got an IP Address:

But in Status > WAN the WebUI say's"WAN: not ready"

0 votes
by anonymous
Hi Jimmy,

Could you try rebooting your router and then selecting ONLY the Wireless option on the WAN page? Mobile must be unselected.

After that, check if you have a successful connection to your WiFi hotspot that you're trying to connect and extend.

If yes, you can try enabling mobile in WAN as a failover connection.