FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
768 views 2 comments
by anonymous
I'm new to the Teltonika Routers.

I’m not sure if I’m misunderstanding how these should work, or if I just can’t see the necessary settings.

RUT240 Firmware is RUT2_R_00.07.02.7

I have a SIM card in the RUT-240 and that is connecting to the internet just fine. I have a lead from the RUT-240 LAN port to a laptop. This all works fine and I can do all I need to do.

The challenge I’m having is when I try to connect the RUT-240 to a modem to use the NBN rather than the 4G internet connection.

So I run a cable from the NBN modem to the WAN port on the RUT-240.

When I plug it in, I lose the internet on the laptop, and I can’t even get into the Router’s interface any more.

My suspicion is that it’s an IP Address/DNS issue.

The NBN router is set on 192.168.1.1, and from it I can see the RUT240 is 192.68.1.10 (which I have set the LAN on the RUT240 to as static).

What am I doing wrong? Or can it not work this way? I thought this was the whole point of this router, to give that failover capability, so I suspect I just don’t have it set up correctly.
by anonymous
Hi, OK, that seems to have sorted things out. One question though. Is there something that indicates which Network Interface is currently the active one?

So I disconnect the cable from the WAN port, and the internet connection switches to the 4G SIM card. Great!