That's correct. Everything was the same as before and confirmed. Upgrading breaks that connection. Downgrading and putting the settings in manually (as they get wiped by a downgrade works) using the same certs & credentials.
I've reset, uprgraded twice, put the settings in manually on upgrades as well as downgrades and it doesn't work on the new firmware. Tried this on 2 different devices too and can replicate that issue on both.