FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
1,851 views 2 comments
by anonymous
Hi,

I'm a complete novice so please excuse my ignorance if I'm missing something simple.

I'm trying to connect via Serial cable to a software program called SMSReception Centre (http://www.sw4me.com/wiki/SMSReceptionCenter ) .   

I can connect to the RUT955 through Putty no problems, and then enter the Username:  "root" and   Password:  "Password1".      However, the SMSReception software appears to be programmed to connect straight into a device (rather than first sending it a Username and Password ).   

When connecting to the RUT955 from the SMSReception software,  I suspect the software keeps sending commands to the device,  but is being locked out because the RUT955 first requires a Username and Password before it'll start accepting AT commands.   

Is it possible to disable the requirement to input a Username and Password when connecting via Serial cable so I can connect to the device?

If this isn't possible,  the SMSRecption software has a configuration section called "Modem Init"   and some blank spaces to enter up to 5 commands beside the headings "Init string 1:" ,    "Init string 2:"     etc  through to "Init string 5:"  .    Is it possible the Username and Password could be specified in this configuration screen?  If so, any idea what the commands would be?     

Thanks so much for your help,

Kind regards,

Michael

1 Answer

+1 vote
by anonymous

Hello,

Yes, you can disable RS232/RS485 console username/password. However, to do that, you would have to modify router's scripts.

1. First download modified RS232/RS485 scripts from here.