FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
375 views 6 comments
by anonymous
Hi, I'm new to Teltonika and have a question regarding my RUTX11 running firmware version RUTX_R_00.02.06.1. When I view the location of the RUTX11 in PMS using devices/device details/location the shown map location is wrong by about 200 meters when compared to looking directly at the RUTX11 web UI using services/GPS/map. The direct device location is correct. How can I correct this discrepancy?

Thanks for your help
by anonymous
Came here as I've just noticed the map pin on RMS is way off. I'm literally paying for RMS for this only reason. I'd like to track the location of my van.

I'm surprised this appears to be a simple rounding issue and it still hasn't been fixed 10 months after it was discovered.

1 Answer

0 votes
by anonymous
Hi,

Is the device showing a more accurate location in its WebUI or is it also over 200 metres from the spot it should be?

EB.
by anonymous
Hi EB,

Yes the WebUI is very accurate. I think I may have identified the problem, but not a solution. RMS appears to be rounding the location down to 3 decimal place but the WebUI shows 6 decimal places. RMS is showing Lat xx.085 and Long xxx.69 but the WebUI is showing xx.085369 and xxx.688025. Any ideas?

Keith
by anonymous
Hi,

In that case, I believe it's not really possible to identify this as an issue because RMS GPS location function isn't for "exact location" purpose.