FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
515 views 4 comments
by anonymous

Hi, i am new to a rutx11 and we have purched this for our camper/rv to connected to internet. At this moment i have no sim card inserted and i am depended on WiFi of campings. I have setup the rutx11 as a 2.4 ghz access point and disabled the 5ghz one to safe energy. So far so good.

When I am arriving at a camping I scan the area a join the strongest wifi of the camping. 

After this I dragged this connection to the top in my interfaces menu (unfortunately not working on the iPad and had to connect my laptop)

For some reason the camping didn't allow this way of connection and blocked my Mac address ( can you change the Mac address?). I was not aware of this as it was not clearly stated in the camping guidelines. Also not sure why. 

As a result of this I had trouble to connect to my rutx11 wifi to change things. It disconnected evertime. Sometimes the wifi was not even visible. And if it was connected I couldn't login to the we admin web console. 

My question( sorry I have so many):

• do I something wrong here to connect to a camping Wi-Fi?
  • Is it true that when (in this case) the camping wifi is blocked I cannot connect anymore (or difficult) to my rutx11 or do I make a mistake?
  • Can I spoof the mac address of the client connecting to the camping wifi (interfaces menu?)
  • Can I simulate a phone that connects to the camping wifi? I mean how can they see it ( my most name is iphonemobile)

Sorry for all the questions but I am trying to understand the concept and this was not clear int the wiki manual. Hope Someone can help me.