FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
+2 votes
1,022 views 2 comments
by anonymous
I’m relatively new to the routing topic, thus sorry about this stupid question.

In my campvan I have an RUTX11 installed (FW RUTX_R00.07.01.4) with an external antenna. All of my devices I carry with me are registered on the RUTX11 Wi-Fi network. If no Wi-fi is available, connection runs over the mobile interface (LTE, 4G, 3G…) On campsites (certainly this also applies also to Wi-fi in hotels) there are three kinds of free Wi-Fi offered:

1st: As customer you get the Wi-Fi code, this is the WPA passcode needed to connect to the provided campsite Wi-Fi. This works fin with the RUTX11. Just scan the networks, enter the passcode and done.

2nd: The campsite offers an open Wi-Fi, after connecting with an mobile phone, the mobile phone shows that logon is requested. One click and the mobile phone is redirected to a logon page, where the customer has just click to "Connect". That’s all to get free Wi-Fi access.

3rd: The same as 2nd, but it cost every day some coins.

I struggle with scenario 2.

It’s easy to create the connection – just scan and connect, but the browser (FireFox, Chrome) tells me then that logon is mandatory and offers an button "Logon" or "Connect". This button forwards the browser the following site: "https://www.btwifi.com:8443/home?CPURL=http://home.bt.com" telling me, page not found and offering buy-wifi-access.