FOR TIPS, gUIDES & TUTORIALS

subscribe to our Youtube

GO TO YOUTUBE

14455 questions

17168 answers

28195 comments

0 members

We are migrating to our new platform at https://community.teltonika.lt. Moving forward, you can continue discussions on this new platform. This current platform will be temporarily maintained for reference purposes.
0 votes
539 views 2 comments
by anonymous

Firmware: RUTX_R_00.07.02.1
Firmware build date: 2022-06-03 11:26:05

Hello,
I am new to network technique but I hope I got it right till now.
I want to create a Lan-Guest-IoT segmentation. Let's only talk about Lan-Iot. Lan has 192.168.1.0/24 and IoT has 192.168.2.0/24. 
I realized that my router has to have (at least) two interfaces, one for LAN and one for IoT. I assigned the net ips and subnet masks. Both interfaces are running.
Now, I have two wireless adapters. One is called X the other X IoT. I could assign the network to each Wireless adapter, so I suppose that X is assigned to 192.168.1.0/24 and X IoT is assigned to 192.168.2.0/24.

My first question is following. Is it correct to create a VLAN with (at least) two untagged ports, put the 192.168.1.0/24 to the first vlan port and the 192.168.2.0/24 to the second vlan port? Is this a physical segmentation? Would it be possible to have the both nets 192.168.1.0/24 and 192.168.2.0/24 on the same physical net? (I have heard that his is called overlay network).

My second question is regarding a "bridge". A bridge is a layer link device connecting two devices on OSI level 2 together. Before I started to create my segmentation, I can rememeber that there was an interface called br-lan available. As far as I understood, it combined the lan and the wlan to one "ethernet-wlan" lan. Is this correct? How can I now create a

• "ethernet-wlan" lan
  • "iot ethernet- iot wlan" lan

In my physical settings of my two interfaces. I have currently dfined

• eth0
  • eth0.2

If I change it to 

• eth0.1
  • eth0.2